Love Sewing

My 1st Ever Baby Girl Make!!!

Good Evening People!

My friend asked me if I could make a lovely little dress for her soon to arrive Granddaughter of which of course I couldn’t say no I don’t have the chance to make cute baby things anymore since my to terrors are now 4 and 8 and boys hahaha I’m outnumbered at home including the Hubby and Dex the Cat!!

I came across the lovely Raleigh Dress from Blank Slate Patterns which also includes a Romper version too for ickle boys!

Also You can’t go wrong for pretty fabrics from MinervaCrafts which this pretty Vintage Floral Fabric is from with their speedy dispatch and delivery they were a godsend for me getting on with this as soon as possible 🙂

Now the pattern itself was easy to cut out with it only being a front bodice and back bodice pieces as i chose to make the skirt following the measurements rather than wasting some more paper with me being more eco friendly and all that!

This is one great pattern for little ones as the bodice is fully lined so no irritating seam 🙂 even though I did find that a bit tricky to keep the bodice in a line to stitch the ditch but with patience and perseverance I got there in the end! Look at the result though It’s fab!!

wp-1467053242373.jpg

Now I must admit I don’t do buttons and buttonholes a lot so I got my cheaty tool of my automatic buttonhole attachment for my Sewing Machine and voila one easy peasy buttonhole done for me! mwhahaha!

wp-1467052172419.jpg

I thought such a sweet dress needed sweet buttons so i came across these beautiful ickle buttons from And Sew Forth which thankfully Lynne has moved shop to my Home Town now where i can pester her and buy more pretties so if you are near Goole in East Yorkshire make sure you pop in and give her a visit!

Now no Dress can’t be complete without a matching headband! I didn’t want anything that would be uncomfortable for her so i decided to go for some stretchy lace and make a Bow from the same Dress fabric. I positioned the seam to the outside of the headband so it wouldn’t be uncomfortable and place the Bow on top to hid the Seam 🙂

wp-1467052141115.jpg

And here we are! Once Cute home sewn outfit for one little Princess! Now she just need to decides its time to arrive so she can wear it 🙂

Hope your enjoying the Sunshine where ever you are guys!!

Sal xx

2 thoughts on “My 1st Ever Baby Girl Make!!!

Leave a Reply

